My own little food tour of Europe…

“One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.” Virginia Woolf, A Room of One’s Own

The Duck & Waffle, London (UK)

Let’s start with London since this is where I currently live! The Duck & Waffle is the highest restaurant in Europe. Located on the 40th floor of Heron Tower, right above Sushi Samba (next up on my list!), the 360° view is beautiful! The place is open 24/7 and has a bar area where you can look down on the Gherkin while sipping a cocktail.

The food is not cheap, but it is innovative and sophisticated. If you eat meat, you ought to try the “Duck & Waffle”. Don’t let the name put you off, the duck confit/egg/waffle/maple syrup is a mix that works very well!

http://duckandwaffle.com/

duckwaffle2

herontowerpano1

1378201_10151916696066438_495881028_n

Eggs & Co, Paris (France)

Here’s a place I like to visit every time I go to the City of Light! Located in Saint-Germain-des-Prés, this cute little restaurant is perfect for Sunday brunch. There is a cosy and rustic feel, and if you’re lucky, you might sit by the fake henhouse! Important detail: the food is to die for. The brunch menus all come with a fresh juice, a warm beverage and pancakes & fruits. My personal favourite (and many people will agree) is the Eggs Benedict, they are sooo good! I’ve been trying to reproduce them at home, with no luck… I am really looking forward to going back in May!

http://www.eggsandco.fr/

296776_10150365336086438_265216532_n

2012-04-13_15-19-39_eggs_and_co

eggs-and-co-2

Le Bistro du Fromager, Nice (France)

I know, France again… What can I say, French cuisine is the best! Our friends took us there a couple of years ago during a weekend in Nice, and we absolutely loved it. You are led down the stairs to a charming stone-walled and cave-liked little room where you will enjoy one of the cheese specialities. No need to know anything about wine, the host will recommend the best one to go with your food. The food is fresh and authentic, the service is excellent and the whole experience will be enchanting! I definitely want to go back at some point.

le-bistro-du-fromager

bistro fromager

le-bistro-du-fromager3

El Mercado de San Miguel, Madrid (Spain)

This isn’t a cozy place where you can sit down and relax but if you want to try the best of Spanish food, this is the place! It is very busy so be prepared to stand while you eat and even share tables with strangers. This buzzing covered market has everything from tortilla, paella and croquettes to fresh fruits, sweets and pastries. We spent four days in Madrid and ended up going there (at least) three times!

http://www.mercadodesanmiguel.es/

mercado-de-san-miguel-pictures-1-1

slide15mercado

mercado de san miguel food

Ristorante Joseph, Rome (Italy)

I am lucky enough to have friends living in beautiful Rome. My boyfriend and I went to visit them for a week, and they took us to various typical places. Although I really enjoyed the late-night gelatos and tiramisu, this lovely Italian restaurant is one of my best food memories from Rome!  I ate buffalo mozzarella for the first time and savoured a true risotto: my favourite Italian dish. And it’s not just the food that is good, you will also be charmed by the setting.

http://www.ristorantejoseph.com/

joseph entrance

joseph

joseph2

A choupana, Portimao (Portugal)

Having a Portuguese boyfriend, I get to travel to Portugal regularly, and I must say the food there is amazing, really tasty. Vegetables for instance, they just taste the way they should taste! You won’t find the best food in the touristic areas though, the best food I had was in those tiny, remote places in the middle of nowhere.  A choupana is located along a road, and if you’re not looking for the place, you won’t find it (we nearly didn’t find it, even though we were looking for it!). We initially went there to try their roast suckling pig (Leitao in Portuguese), but I found everything to be super delicious!

restaurante-a-choupana2

leitao1

All this made me hungry, I will leave you now and go enjoy my dinner. Bon appétit everyone!

A.

Leave a Reply

